The Advisory Committee & Legal Ethics Counsel


⸰      You are currently exhibiting symptoms of COVID-19 in the last 72 hours such as fever, cough, shortness of breath, chills, muscle pain, sore throat, or new loss of taste or smell;
⸰     You have been exposed to someone who has been diagnosed with COVID-19 in the last 14 days; or
⸰     You have traveled to another country in the last 14 days or traveled to a high-risk area.
Essential visitors, including service providers, who must enter the inner office will be required to wear face masks or face coverings while in the inner office. Essential visitors will also be expected to adhere to social distancing guidelines, and may be subject to temperature checks prior to entry.

You may contact our office by telephone at (573) 638-2263.

Missouri lawyers also should view the LEC Resource Page “Ethical Considerations for Missouri Lawyers Regarding the COVID-19 Pandemic.”


Advisory Committee & Office of Legal Ethics Counsel

The Supreme Court of Missouri appoints the members of the Advisory Committee pursuant to Rule 5.01. The Advisory Committee consists of no fewer than six lawyers and two nonlawyers. Members of the Advisory Committee serve without compensation but are reimbursed for reasonable and necessary expenses.  The Advisory Committee acts in accordance with its responsibilities as provided by the Supreme Court of Missouri in Rules 4, 5, and 6.

In order to protect the public from persons unqualified or unauthorized to practice law, the Supreme Court of Missouri has established a lawyer disciplinary system. The Chief Disciplinary Counsel and the Regional Disciplinary Committees investigate complaints of professional misconduct.

The Advisory Committee has responsibilities under Rule 5 regarding disciplinary hearing panel proceedings prior to a matter being filed in the Supreme Court of Missouri.  For more information, please see “Public Information on Cases Pending Before A Disciplinary Hearing Panel.”

The Advisory Committee may give formal opinions and the Legal Ethics Counsel may give nonbinding informal advisory opinions, interpreting Missouri Supreme Court Rules 4, 5, and 6, to Missouri lawyers.  (For links to formal opinions, informal advisory opinions, information on requesting formal opinions or informal advisory opinions, and other ethics resources, see the “For Lawyers” menu on this page.)

The Advisory Committee may review lawyer complaint files that have been closed after investigation by the Office of Chief Disciplinary Counsel or a regional disciplinary committee, at the request of the complainant, pursuant to Rule 5.12.

The Advisory Committee may approve financial institutions to hold client trust accounts pursuant to Rule 4-1.145(a)(2) and maintains a list of IOLTA approved financial institutions.

The Advisory Committee may waive penalties and past due enrollment fees upon proof satisfactory that any delinquency was caused by reason of physical or mental incapacity to engage in the practice of law. Rule 6.01(h).

The Legal Ethics Counsel serves as counsel and staff for the Advisory Committee.

Members of the Advisory Committee, appointed by the Supreme Court, are: Dorothy White-Coleman, Chair, St. Louis; Edward C. Clausen, Vice-Chair, Jefferson City; David W. Ansley, Springfield;  Sheryl Butler, St. Louis; Keith A. Cutler, Kansas City; Jill A. Kanatzar, Kansas City; Levell D. Littleton, Clayton; Elizabeth D. McCarter, St. Louis; Dan R. Nelson, Springfield; Dale Siebeneck, Jefferson City; Kirby Upjohn, Kansas City; Branson L. Wood III, Hannibal; and the Legal Ethics Counsel is Melinda J. Bentley.